
You have found a rehab website you like, and at the bottom sits a row of badges and a star rating, but you have no idea which of those marks were earned from an outside body, which came from a paid directory and which the program simply chose to display; this guide shows you how to read all three for nine Massachusetts centers, starting with a North Shore outpatient program.
Quick picks
You should weigh three things, and we did the same, using what each center publishes and, where noted, what independent directories report.
Accreditation. We looked for named accrediting bodies such as The Joint Commission or CARF, and gave more weight when a seal linked to a verifiable record or included an ID number. A badge reading "accredited" without naming the body counts for less.
Licensing. Massachusetts programs are licensed by the state, typically through the Bureau of Substance Addiction Services (BSAS) or, for hospitals, the Department of Public Health. We noted where a license number is displayed.
Reviews. We report third-party ratings with their source and count, because scores for the same facility can differ sharply between sites, and some directories sell listings or route calls to advertisers. Reviews did not decide the ranking; program fit and verifiable credentials did.
Finally, we never treated self-described rankings or outcome claims as evidence.
Quick facts |
|
Accreditation |
Joint Commission seal displayed; LegitScript Certified (linked) |
Licensing |
PHP described as licensed in Massachusetts as day treatment |
Reviews |
Google reviews linked from the site; count not shown |
Programs |
PHP, IOP, relapse prevention |
If you want an outpatient program with recognized credentials on the North Shore, start with New Wave. The Salisbury center displays The Joint Commission seal and links its LegitScript certification, and it is a facility member of Bayside Continuing Education. Its day treatment program is described as licensed in Massachusetts as day treatment. You will not find a BSAS license number on the site, so ask for it on your first call.
On reviews, the site links to its Google profile but does not show a count or score, which is also true of most programs here. Read the Google reviews directly and look at how recent they are.
The program itself gives you about six weeks of day treatment, about three months of IOP with day or evening tracks and up to six months of relapse prevention. The center says you keep one primary therapist across PHP and IOP. Holistic sessions such as Reiki, sound baths and recovery yoga run daily, per the center, alongside CBT, DBT and medication management.
You will need detox elsewhere if you are in withdrawal, and WellSense is the only in-network plan. Every owner is in long-term recovery, and the co-founders answer the phone themselves.
Quick facts |
|
Accreditation |
Hospital accreditation not shown on addiction pages |
Licensing |
Licensed hospital (Department of Public Health) |
Reviews |
Not shown on site |
Programs |
Detox, residential, partial hospital |
McLean's strongest outside signal is recognition: Fernside placed #1 in Massachusetts on Newsweek's lists for 2024 and 2025, and Naukeag placed #10 in 2025. McLean is a Harvard Medical School affiliate within Mass General Brigham.
Its addiction pages do not display an accreditation seal, so if that matters to you, ask the hospital to confirm its accreditation directly. Ratings are not published on the site.
You can choose insurance-based detox and partial hospital care in Belmont, residential and partial hospital care at Naukeag in Petersham, or Fernside in Princeton, a nine-bed self-pay program at $70,500 per 30 days. Note that MassHealth limits addiction coverage to outpatient care, per McLean.
The division is led by Roger D. Weiss, MD, and the LEADER program serves law enforcement, active duty military and emergency personnel. Program details and bed counts come from a 2021 overview, so confirm current availability.
Quick facts |
|
Accreditation |
"Licensed & Accredited" stated; no accreditor named |
Licensing |
BSAS number not shown |
Reviews |
Not shown on site |
Programs |
PHP, IOP, outpatient |
Refresh's header says it is licensed and accredited and holds all necessary accreditations, but it does not name the body. Third-party directories list The Joint Commission, which you should verify. Its own podcast calls it one of the state's top-rated rehabs; treat that as marketing rather than a ranking.
What you get is a flexible outpatient program from Norwell: Day Treatment (PHP) for about 2 to 4 weeks, Half Day Treatment (IOP) for about 4 to 8 weeks, and men's, women's and virtual versions of each. EMDR, trauma therapy and music therapy are part of the mix.
Ask about MassHealth, since the site does not mention it, and expect a referral for detox.
The staff page names a clinical director with LADC-1 credentials, a director of admissions, two case managers and a primary therapist. The site also refers to a sister brand in staff bios without explanation, so ask how the two are related if you want clarity on ownership.
Quick facts |
|
Accreditation |
Joint Commission, HCO ID 580049 |
Licensing |
Massachusetts License No. 1386065787 (footer) |
Reviews |
RehabNet 4.8 (333); AddictionResource 4.8 (338) |
Programs |
Detox, residential, PHP, IOP, outpatient |
Spring Hill makes verification easy: its footer shows a Joint Commission HCO ID and a Massachusetts license number that you can look up. RehabNet also lists it as an NAATP member, and the site carries four alumni testimonials rated 5.0.
On recognition, Newsweek placed Spring Hill #11 in Massachusetts in 2025, and a company press release reports a #4 placement for 2026, though the homepage still cites the 2025 ranking.
You would stay on a 70-acre campus in Ashby for detox and 28 to 40 days of residential care, with outpatient care in Quincy. Family visits are not allowed on campus.
Two other details are worth checking with admissions. The site lists slightly different in-network carriers in different sections, and it does not state whether MassHealth is accepted. It also reserves the right to discharge patients whose mental health needs exceed its level of care.
Quick facts |
|
Accreditation |
Joint Commission Gold Seal; CARF (chain); LegitScript (linked) |
Licensing |
BSAS number not shown |
Reviews |
"2000+ Google 5-star reviews" chain-wide, per the company |
Programs |
Detox, inpatient, PHP, IOP |
RCA Danvers lists three separate credentials: The Joint Commission Gold Seal, chain-wide CARF accreditation and a linked LegitScript certification. Its location page is clinically reviewed by a named reviewer.
Be careful with its reviews. The company cites more than 2,000 five-star Google reviews and a 4.5 rating, but both are chain-wide, and the source of the 4.5 is not stated. Newsweek's 2025 ranking, which placed Danvers #2 in Massachusetts, is a cleaner outside signal, and CARF lists it among the state's top five for 2026.
The 239-bed campus offers detox through IOP, with evening and virtual tracks and most MassHealth plans accepted, per the company.
Quick facts |
|
Accreditation |
Joint Commission (stated for Haverhill) |
Licensing |
BSAS licensing listed by RehabNet |
Reviews |
RehabNet 4.4 (268) |
Programs |
Detox, stabilization, residential, PHP, IOP |
Serenity states Joint Commission accreditation for its Haverhill facility, and AddictionResource reports LegitScript certification. RehabNet lists BSAS licensing, though the number is not on the company's site.
Its RehabNet rating is 4.4 across 268 reviews, and AddictionResource shows a 4.4 Google score. You will not find ratings on Serenity's own pages.
The facility runs detox, clinical stabilization, residential stays that commonly run 30 to 90 days, PHP and IOP, and it accepts private insurance and Medicaid, per the company.
Keep in mind that many of the company's city pages, including ones for Boston and Cambridge, all route to the single Haverhill facility. Staff credentials and pricing are not published, so ask who will lead your care and whether the medical team includes physicians on site.
Quick facts |
|
Accreditation |
Joint Commission accredited hospital (third party) |
Licensing |
General hospital (third party) |
Reviews |
Not shown |
Programs |
Detox, day program, evening program, outpatient |
Brigham's addiction program sits within a Joint Commission-accredited general hospital, according to a third-party disability resource record. Program-specific accreditation is not stated.
The Addiction Recovery Program offers inpatient detox, a weekday dual diagnosis day program that ends at 2:45 pm, a two-week evening program and outpatient medication treatment. Its Division of Addiction Psychiatry is directed by Joji Suzuki, MD, MSc.
You will not find ratings on the hospital's addiction pages, and some program documents are undated, while the third-party insurance record dates to 2022. If credentials matter to your decision, ask the program directly about current accreditation and which insurers it contracts with. There is no residential level, so plan for another provider if you need to live on site.
Quick facts |
|
Accreditation |
Joint Commission (third party); NCQA and SAMHSA OTP certification (third party) |
Licensing |
State CCBHC certification (Mass.gov) |
Reviews |
Not captured |
Programs |
Detox, stabilization, Section 35, methadone, outpatient |
High Point holds state certification as a Certified Community Behavioral Health Clinic, confirmed by Mass.gov, with 24/7 crisis services. Third-party sources report Joint Commission accreditation and NCQA and SAMHSA opioid treatment program certification.
Its Women's Addiction Treatment Center in New Bedford came third statewide on Newsweek's 2025 list, after fourth-place finishes in 2023 and 2024. The nonprofit serves southeastern Massachusetts and, per GuideStar, patients regardless of ability to pay.
One caution: the credentials listed here come from state records and directories rather than High Point's own pages. Call to confirm current accreditation, and expect detox, stabilization, Section 35 programs, methadone treatment and outpatient clinics across Plymouth, Brockton, New Bedford and Taunton.
Quick facts |
|
Accreditation |
Joint Commission and LegitScript seals (footer) |
Licensing |
BSAS license listed by RehabNet |
Reviews |
RehabNet 4.8 (534); AddictionResource 4.4; BetterAddictionCare 2.8 (39) |
Programs |
Detox, residential, PHP, IOP |
Washburn is the clearest example of why you should read reviews across sources: its ratings range from 2.8 to 4.8 depending on the directory. RehabNet ranked it #1 in Massachusetts for 2026; one directory even misattributes the facility to a different parent company.
The accreditation picture is steadier, with Joint Commission and LegitScript seals in the footer and an NAATP directory link. The Worcester site offers detox through IOP and accepts a long list of commercial, MassHealth and VA plans.
Center |
Accreditation |
Third-party rating |
Newsweek recognition |
New Wave Recovery Center |
Joint Commission seal; LegitScript |
Not shown |
Not eligible (outpatient only) |
McLean Hospital |
Not shown on addiction pages |
Not shown |
Fernside #1 (2024, 2025) |
Refresh Recovery & Wellness |
Not named |
Not shown |
Not eligible (outpatient only) |
Spring Hill Recovery Center |
Joint Commission |
4.8 (RehabNet) |
#11 (2025); #4 (2026, per company) |
Recovery Centers of America at Danvers |
Joint Commission Gold Seal; CARF; LegitScript |
Chain-wide figures only |
#2 (2025) |
Serenity at Summit Haverhill |
Joint Commission |
4.4 (RehabNet) |
Not listed |
Brigham and Women's Faulkner Hospital |
Hospital-level (third party) |
Not shown |
Not listed |
High Point Treatment Center |
Joint Commission (third party) |
Not captured |
WATC #3 (2025) |
Washburn House |
Joint Commission; LegitScript |
2.8 to 4.8 by directory |
Not listed |
None of these centers publishes a price list except McLean's Fernside, so a free benefits check is your real starting point. Give the exact name of your plan, not just the insurer.
If you have MassHealth, your options are widest at RCA Danvers, Washburn House and High Point. New Wave accepts MassHealth through WellSense and takes out-of-network benefits for other plans. McLean limits MassHealth to outpatient addiction care, and Refresh and Spring Hill do not state MassHealth acceptance.
If you are uninsured, ask about payment plans (RCA Danvers, Washburn, Serenity) or High Point's sliding fee scale, which third-party listings describe.
Ask the program for its BSAS license number, or its hospital license if it is hospital based, and check it with the state. Spring Hill, for example, prints its license number on its website.
Use them with care. Scores for the same facility can differ by two points between sites, and some directories sell listings, so compare several sources and read recent reviews rather than relying on a single average.
Newsweek's state list covers residential programs and excludes outpatient-only centers. That is why New Wave Recovery Center and Refresh cannot appear on it, regardless of how they operate.
New Wave Recovery Center leads this list for North Shore adults who want outpatient care with recognized credentials, displaying a Joint Commission seal and linked LegitScript certification alongside a daily holistic program. Spring Hill makes its license and accreditation numbers easiest to verify, RCA Danvers documents the broadest set of credentials, and Washburn House shows why reviews should be read across several sources before you decide.